The three numbers on a pocket drive box that actually matter in 2026 are the port (USB 3.2, USB4, or Thunderbolt), whether the controller has its own DRAM, and what happens to write speed after the first few minutes. Peak MB/s is the easy part. Sustained speed after the drive gets warm is what you live with.

This is not another "best pocket drive" list that ranks the same USB 3.2 boxes from last year. If you want cheap terabytes and you do not care about wait time, go read my external hard drive guide and buy spinning rust. If you dump cards, edit off the drive, or you are the offsite copy in a 3-2-1 backup, the interface and the thermal curve decide the purchase.

What to Look For

Match the drive to the port you actually own, then judge it on the speed it holds after five minutes, not the first five seconds.

  • USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps). Ceiling around 1,050 MB/s. This is still the most common laptop USB-C port, including every current Mac. The Samsung T7 Shield lives here.
  • USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps). Ceiling around 2,000 MB/s. Rare on laptops. The T9 needs this port to hit the number on the box. Plug it into Thunderbolt 3 or a 10Gbps USB-C port and it falls back to about 1,000 MB/s.
  • USB4 / Thunderbolt 4 (40Gbps). Ceiling around 3,800 to 4,000 MB/s. USB4 is the protocol; Thunderbolt 4 is Intel's certified superset that includes USB4. A USB4 drive works in a Thunderbolt 4 port. A Thunderbolt-only drive does not always do the reverse at full speed.
  • DRAM vs DRAM-less. DRAM is a small, fast map of where your data lives on the NAND. DRAM-less drives borrow host RAM (HMB) or run without a map cache. Fine for copies. Worse for lots of small random writes, and more likely to fall off a cliff once the SLC cache fills.
  • The thermal drop. Pocket enclosures have almost no heatsink. After a few minutes of sequential writes, many DRAM-less USB4 drives throttle. That is the whole reason the Corsair is the overall pick and the SanDisk USB4 is a rugged also-ran.
  • The cable. USB4 speed needs a 40Gbps cable. The cheap 5Gbps USB-C cable in your drawer will silently cap you. If you need a spare, start with my 100W USB-C cable guide.
  • Format. Most of these ship exFAT. If you want APFS for Time Machine or a Mac-only workflow, reformat before you trust it.
Drive Interface Rated read / write DRAM Street price (1TB unless noted) Amazon rating
Corsair EX400U USB4 40Gbps 4,000 / 3,500 MB/s Not specified (Phison bridge) about $288 4.0 (391)
Samsung T9 USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 2,000 / 2,000 MB/s Onboard (review teardowns) about $220 4.6 (2,921)
SanDisk Extreme PRO USB4 USB4 40Gbps 3,800 / 3,700 MB/s Not specified about $550 (2TB) 4.6
PRO-G40 Thunderbolt 3 + USB 10Gbps 2,700 / 1,900 MB/s DDR4 about $530 (2TB) 3.9 (1,096)
T7 Shield USB 3.2 Gen 2 1,050 / 1,000 MB/s Typical Samsung portable cache about $160 on sale, often much higher (2TB) 4.6

Best Overall: Corsair EX400U 1TB

The Corsair EX400U is the USB4 drive I would buy for a current Windows laptop or a Thunderbolt 4 Mac, because published sustained-write tests keep it ahead of the prettier SanDisk after the first burst. About $288 as of this writing against a $529.99 list. MagSafe on the back. 92 grams. 64.3 x 64 x 12 mm. Phison PS2251-21. Rated 4,000 MB/s read and 3,500 MB/s write over USB4, with fallback through USB 3.2 Gen 2x2, Gen 2, and older USB.

Tom's Hardware's USB4 bake-off is the evidence that matters here. The Corsair wrote above 1,800 MB/s, then settled in the 1,550 to 1,650 MB/s range after about 20 seconds and held that for a 30-minute write. The SanDisk USB4 was faster at the start and slower than the Corsair after a few minutes. That is the thermal drop the brief asked for, measured, not guessed.

The honest caveat is reliability on some hosts, especially Macs. The Amazon listing sits at 4.0 stars across 391 ratings, and 18% of those are 1-star. Corsair has published two firmware utilities for this exact drive: one for frequent disconnects (Link Power Management on firmware ULFM91.0) and one for macOS mount failures on M-series Macs (malformed USB serial number on a later batch). Both require a Windows PC and wipe the drive. If you are Mac-only and you will not borrow a Windows machine to flash firmware, this is not your drive. Buyer reviews also split on heat: some say it stays cool, others say it gets very warm. Neither camp reports the multi-minute collapse Tom's saw on the SanDisk.

Pros

  • USB4 and Thunderbolt 4 speeds in a 92 g square with MagSafe
  • Published 30-minute writes hold 1,550 to 1,650 MB/s after the burst
  • About $288 as of this writing, well under the SanDisk USB4 2TB
  • Includes a 40Gbps USB-C cable (30 cm, 60W)

Cons

  • 4.0 stars and an 18% 1-star share; firmware bugs have needed Windows-only utilities
  • Plastic and aluminum shell, not IP-rated
  • 3-year warranty, shorter than Samsung's 5-year T9
  • Maximum speed needs a real USB4 or Thunderbolt 4 port and the included 40Gbps cable

Best USB 3.2 Pick: Samsung T9 1TB

The Samsung T9 is what I would buy if I did not own a USB4 port, which is still most people. USB 3.2 Gen 2x2, rated 2,000 MB/s read and write, 122 g, 88 x 60 x 14 mm, AES 256-bit hardware encryption, 5-year warranty, USB-C to C and USB-C to A in the box. About $220 as of this writing against a $287.99 list. 4.6 stars across 2,921 ratings.

Reviewers who opened the T9 describe onboard DRAM, which is the right architecture for a drive that hops between hosts. HMB only works when the host offers it. A camera, a console, or an older laptop often will not. Samsung's Dynamic Thermal Guard is the other reason this drive keeps showing up in creator kits: owners running long 4K copies report the case getting warm (reviewers have measured around 55C) with a modest 15 to 20% write dip after several minutes, not a collapse.

Know your port before you pay for 2,000 MB/s. Every Mac, and most PC USB-C ports, are 10Gbps. Buyers consistently report about 1,000 MB/s there, which is still the T7 Shield's entire ceiling. The other recurring complaint is random disconnect and reconnect cycles on some 20Gbps desktop ports. If that is your machine, try a different cable and a rear motherboard port before you return the drive.

Pros

  • 4.6 stars across 2,921 ratings, 5-year warranty, both cable types in the box
  • Onboard DRAM (per teardowns) plus thermal management that holds long copies
  • About $220 as of this writing for 1TB
  • 9.8 ft drop rating, no moving parts

Cons

  • Full speed needs a rare USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 port
  • Reported disconnect loops on some 20Gbps desktop ports
  • Gets warm on long writes; some owners dislike leaving it on a laptop
  • 1TB at this price is a poor per-terabyte deal next to a hard drive

Best Rugged USB4: SanDisk Extreme PRO with USB4 2TB

The SanDisk Extreme PRO with USB4 is the drive you buy when you want USB4 speed and an IP65 silicone shell, and you are willing to pay for a burst that does not last. 2TB, rated 3,800 MB/s read and 3,700 MB/s write, forged aluminum chassis, carabiner loop, 5-year limited warranty, Thunderbolt 4 compatible, backward compatible with USB 3.2. About $550 as of this writing. 4.6 stars on the US listing.

This is the thermal-drop exhibit. Tom's Hardware's 2TB sample ($279 at the time of that review, now much higher) started faster than the Corsair and was slower after a few minutes of sustained writes. Fine if you copy a card and unplug. A bad fit if you ingest a day's 4K or 8K footage in one sitting. The shell is the consolation: IP65, 2-meter drop rating, and it feels like a tool, not a dongle.

The recurring buyer complaint is price versus sustained speed. You are paying a rugged tax and a USB4 tax for a drive that cannot hold its headline write rate. If you need the shell, buy it. If you need the minutes, buy the Corsair.

Pros

  • IP65 shell and aluminum core, built to live in a camera bag
  • USB4 plus Thunderbolt 4, with USB 3.2 fallback
  • 5-year limited warranty
  • 4.6-star listing, stronger owner sentiment than the Corsair

Cons

  • Sustained writes drop after a few minutes in published tests
  • About $550 for 2TB as of this writing, well above the Corsair per terabyte
  • Heavier and longer than the EX400U
  • Burst rating is easy to confuse with the older 2,000 MB/s Extreme PRO

Best Thunderbolt / DRAM: SanDisk Professional PRO-G40 2TB

The SanDisk Professional PRO-G40 is the DRAM pick, and the only Thunderbolt-native drive here. Tom's Hardware's teardown lists DDR4 on the board, a Titan Ridge JHL7440 Thunderbolt 3 controller, and a separate ASMedia ASM2362 USB 10Gbps bridge. Rated 2,700 MB/s read and 1,900 MB/s write over Thunderbolt 3, 1,050 / 1,000 MB/s over USB. IP68, 3-meter drop, 4,000 lb crush, 120 g class, aluminum core, 5-year warranty. About $530 as of this writing. 3.9 stars across 1,096 ratings.

Thunderbolt 3 is still 40Gbps, so on a Thunderbolt 4 Mac this drive is not "slower protocol." It is an older, heavier, more honest enclosure: the metal is the heatsink, the DRAM is on the PCB, and USB is a fallback, not a promise of USB4. That is the point. If you edit off the drive for an hour, DRAM plus aluminum is why published reviews call the write curve consistent.

The rating is the warning. 3.9 stars with well over a thousand reviews is the weakest score in this guide. Owner complaints cluster on units that die, disconnect, or never hit the Thunderbolt number because the cable or the port was USB-only. USB mode is capped at 10Gbps, so a USB-C-only PC leaves most of the money on the table. This is a specialist tool for a Thunderbolt host, not a universal dongle.

Pros

  • Confirmed DDR4 DRAM in published teardowns
  • Aluminum core sized for sustained Thunderbolt writes
  • IP68, 3 m drop, 4,000 lb crush, 5-year warranty
  • Dual-mode: Thunderbolt 3 at 40Gbps, USB at 10Gbps

Cons

  • 3.9 stars across 1,096 ratings, the weakest score here
  • About $530 for 2TB, and USB hosts only get 10Gbps
  • Thunderbolt 3, not USB4; no MagSafe, not pocket-small
  • Heavier and bulkier than the EX400U or T9

Best Rugged 10Gbps: Samsung T7 Shield 2TB

The Samsung T7 Shield is the drive I would throw in a wet bag when the host is a 10Gbps USB-C port and I do not want to think about USB4. USB 3.2 Gen 2, 1,050 / 1,000 MB/s, IP65, 3-meter drop, about 79 g, 85 x 57 x 10.9 mm, AES 256-bit, both cable types, Dynamic Thermal Guard. 4.6 stars. Street price has swung hard in 2026: I have seen it near $160 on a sale and listed over $450. View it on Amazon before you assume last year's number.

At 10Gbps the thermal story is boring in a good way. There is less heat to dump, and Samsung's rubber shell plus thermal guard is why independent write-soak tests do not show the USB4-style cliff. You also get 2TB in a package smaller than the T9. For photographers who already own a 10Gbps laptop, that is the whole product.

The recurring complaint is value once NAND got expensive. Paying T9 or USB4 money for 1,050 MB/s only makes sense if you need the IP65 shell and you will never see a 20Gbps or 40Gbps port. The rubber also collects dust and lint. If your copies stay at a desk, skip the Shield and take the T9 or the Corsair.

Pros

  • IP65 and a 3 m drop rating in a 79 g stick
  • 2TB in a smaller footprint than the T9
  • Holds 10Gbps writes without the USB4 thermal drama
  • 4.6-star track record, hardware encryption, both cables

Cons

  • Hard-capped at about 1,050 MB/s
  • 2026 street price has spiked; easy to overpay versus the T9
  • Rubber shell collects dust
  • No USB4 or Thunderbolt path later

How the Five Compare

Side-by-side product comparison
AttributeCorsair EX400U 1TB USB4 Portable SSDSamsung T9 Portable SSD 1TB (MU-PG1T0B/AM)SanDisk Extreme PRO Portable SSD with USB4 2TBSanDisk Professional PRO-G40 SSD 2TBSamsung T7 Shield Portable SSD 2TB (MU-PE2T0S/AM, Black)
Rating4.04.64.63.94.6
Price$287.76$179.99$549.99$529.99$159.99
Capacity1TB1TB2TB2TB2TB
InterfaceUSB4 40Gbps (USB-C), Thunderbolt 4+USB 3.2 Gen 2x2 (20Gbps), USB-CUSB4 (Thunderbolt 4 compatible), USB 3.2 fallbackThunderbolt 3 (40Gbps) + USB-C 10GbpsUSB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps), USB-C
Sequential read / writeUp to 4,000 / 3,500 MB/sup to 2,000 / 2,000 MB/sUp to 3,800 / 3,700 MB/s
ControllerPhison PS2251-21
Dimensions64.3 x 64 x 12 mm3.46 x 2.37 x 0.55 in (88 x 60 x 14 mm)85.0 x 57.0 x 10.9 mm
Weight92 g4.3 oz (122 g)approx 79g
Warranty3-year limited5-year limited5-year limited5-year limited
Drop resistance9.8 ft (3 m)
Included cablesUSB-C to C and USB-C to A
DurabilityIP65, up to 2 m dropIP68, 3 m drop, 4,000 lb crushIP65 dust/water resistant, drop-tested to 3m (9.8 ft)
Sequential read / write (TB3)Up to 2,700 / 1,900 MB/s
Sequential read / write (USB)Up to 1,050 / 1,000 MB/s
CacheDDR4 DRAM
Sequential read/writeUp to 1,050 / 1,000 MB/s
BuyView on AmazonView on AmazonView on AmazonView on AmazonView on Amazon

The Bottom Line

If the laptop has USB4 or Thunderbolt 4, buy the Corsair EX400U and budget five minutes to confirm it mounts after the first firmware check. If the laptop is a normal 10Gbps USB-C machine, buy the Samsung T9 and ignore the 2,000 MB/s badge. Take the T7 Shield only when the bag gets wet. Take the SanDisk Extreme PRO USB4 only when you want that shell and you copy in short bursts. Take the PRO-G40 when you have Thunderbolt, you care about DRAM, and you can live with a 3.9-star listing.

Need cheap bulk instead of speed? That is spinning rust. Need the copy to live on the network, not in a pocket? Start with the NAS explainer.